Loading the slideshow

The slideshow requires script be turned on to function.

FIND YOUR DREAM HOME OR APARTMENT

or
Powered by
 
18Comments
Jul 27, 2014 1:23PM
avatar
As a former ASHI certified building inspector, I would like to add:  Clean out your garage.  If I spot bottles of drain cleaner, I suspect a waste line blockage.  If I find a partial can of KILZ, I am not satisfied until I find the "repaired" moisture stain.  Just a little heads up!
Jul 27, 2014 10:27AM
avatar
Home inspections are a self regulated agency and no state licensing is required.   Really, it's just  liability management encouraged by Realtor's.   OMG  there is mold!!!!!!  Every time......
  Seriously though....
   With the whirlwind of your loan getting done, not getting done, and other topsy nervy events in the home buying roller coaster..... I have found many people don't even read the report until something breaks after they move in and the phone stops ringing.  Then,   they believe that the home warranty,   bought for them by the agent, is going to fix everything for free.   The Home Inspection agreements likely hold the Home inspector responsible only up to the cost of the home inspection.  Most of them are good though.

   The $300 bucks or so spent on a home inspection is a smart thing to do if you aren't that handy,  however,  Read the report throughout, 
   Do your own inspection, get that cranky uncle there to help you...   And if something is questionable, higher a LICENSED contractor to follow up appropriately....
Plumber to check the plumbing,
Roofer for the roof.
HVAC guy for the Heating and A/C.   and so on....  Those costs for repairs may  be negotiated into the purchase agreement.     and that mold?  call a mold guy I suppose.

By the way... "AS IS"  sales agreement  does not relieve the seller of latent issues and you may be sued or held accountable for many years after selling  a home.

Nov 9, 2013 12:47PM
avatar

says Leopold. "As a seller, you want the inspector to be in a good mood."

Yeah, that would surely make the inspector less partial.

Nov 9, 2013 12:43PM
avatar
residential home inspections are b.s. if you buy a home that passed a residential inspection and then find something major wrong, the inspector has 0 liability and you're 100% stuck with getting it fixed. it's all a real estate scam.
Nov 9, 2013 6:41AM
avatar
Seems to me none of that will encourage a *pass grade* on your home inspection; everything listed simply makes the inspector's job easier.  Crappy article.
Nov 5, 2013 11:49AM
avatar

Let me add one common  sense comment about home inspections -- make the rounds yourself before an inspector will come up with something you didn't anticipate -- can save you significant dollars. For example:

 

1. Had a blown motor on a vent fan -- while inspector was poitning this out to me, I could show him a new fan that was new in box about to be installed.

 

2. Inspector said vent line "boots" were cracked and would cost me several hundred dollars to replace. I pointed out that the folks i had sprucing up exterior paint and paneling were taking care of these -- their cost to me was only $11 per boot.

 

3. If you have GFCI on the lower floor/outdoor circuits, inspectors generally regard that as good protection.

 

4. Floors/tile/carpet should be in immaculate shape BEFORE you call in the inspector. Makes a definite influence on inspector to see that major items are handled correctly.

 

5. Agree whole heatedly about gettign rid of old junk you don't need -- it'll only make the place lok bigger and in better shape.

 

Nov 5, 2013 7:16AM
avatar

I like the aspect of writing a article on home inspection, but missing the fundamentals of a home inspection. The title does not match contents. Home inspection is not about passing or failing, it's about under standing the condition of the home.

Nov 5, 2013 5:32AM
avatar

Jason, Jason, did you actually complete 2nd grade.   What the heck are you rambling about.  It makes

absolutely no sense.  I think you are talking about a City Inspector NOT a home inspector.  Please

learn to construct a grammatically correct sentence with 1 thought.   Please.

Nov 5, 2013 5:20AM
avatar
There is no pass/fail on a home inspection. The person who wrote this needs to do more research before they start to have an opinion about a home inspection. Don't set up a ladder, the inspector will not want to use your ladder, he has his own. A few of the points were OK, remove the clutter and allow access. Make sure the utilities are on, pets are gone, lights work, check all your doors and windows, do they latch and lock properly. The list could go on and on for what to do ahead of time. Just remember the home inspection is for your benefit and will help you seal the deal with the buyer. Everyone should get a home inspection and Radon Test.
Nov 5, 2013 5:12AM
avatar
The best way to resolve the home inspection problems is to sell "as is."  Every home I have sold  has been as is...  In each situation the home was in good shape, in a valued area, and had multiple offers.  I just didn't want to open my home to some stranger who wants to roam through the house unescorted...not going to happen.
Nov 5, 2013 5:02AM
avatar

A lot of good points. As a home inspector in Chicago of 12 years I have gone round and round with Chicago Realtors, over the first thing mentioned; Get the home inspected BEFORE you listed it. Several agents I work with love to try to duck the issue then get upset when I show up on the other side to do the inspection for their seller. They get upset because I "kill the deal" as it's said in the industry. My mother, who is an agent in Elmhurst, IL is just as guilty.

 

Also rule that was missed is #10. Find your own inspector. Don't use a highly recommended Realtor's choice unless you really know the Realtor. Also make sure you "Inspector your inspector". Check out their independent reviews and check out their BBB rating when possible. Also a good home inspector can pretty much find any problem you try to hide so just disclose the issue now Mr. and Mrs. Home Seller.

 

 

Nov 5, 2013 4:53AM
avatar
Or the old fashined way of getting the inspectors name and HIS home address and in the name of equality before the law, doing an inspection on HIS home to see how HE likes not passing because YOU say so! Why don;t they give thee guys names what are THEY hiding?! Let people get by on giving Numbers and unrelated letters instead of a name without being thought of as hiding something like these schmoes do, or the Unhealth inspectors who somehow MISS inspecting strip joints that serve food or ISLAMIC restraunts! But listen to 'em BRAG about closing EVERYOEN else down! Show me one inspector that will shut down a muslim resturant for health code violations or a building inspector that will close a MOSQUE due to building code violations Just ONE! Where'd equality go all of a sudden?! hee hee hee
Nov 5, 2013 4:23AM
avatar
There is no Pass/Fail on a Home inspection. all we as inspectors do it look for deficiencies and report on them, so potential buyers knew exactly what they are getting into.  this whole article is misleading and bogus.
Nov 5, 2013 4:02AM
avatar
This has nothing to do with home inspection at all--wake all  you cell phone huggers!
Nov 5, 2013 3:27AM
avatar
Doesn't that ladder have a safety label "NEVER STAND ON THE TOP STEP" ??
Report
Please help us to maintain a healthy and vibrant community by reporting any illegal or inappropriate behavior. If you believe a message violates theCode of Conductplease use this form to notify the moderators. They will investigate your report and take appropriate action. If necessary, they report all illegal activity to the proper authorities.
Categories
100 character limit
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?

WHAT'S YOUR HOME WORTH?

video on msn real estate